London walkabout: Southbank and Tate Modern

Good evening! Finally able to post this; has taken me ages but oh well! I’ve already got another one that needs to be posted as well (my visit to Hampton Court today) and Saturday I’m going to Cornwall, where I’ll probably won’t have any internet. I hope I’ll have the chance to post it tonight.

Anyway, yesterday I visited London centre for the first time all by myself. I took the overland train to Waterloo Station, and walked from there on all the way to Tower Bridge and back. I visited Tate Modern as well.

Things I put in my handbag! Pink book includes the whole of London in map-form, my iPod, Underground map, keys and of course some reading material (I nearly finished it btw)

At Waterloo Station, the big boards with all the destinations etc

The big clock in the central hall

Coming out of Waterloo station, I crossed the road and turned right (just as Susanna told me). I’d be walking along Southbank, passing Tate Modern, Shakespeare’s The Globe and eventually London and Tower Bridge.

Icecream car (do you see The Eye in the background?)

Cool coloured sand!

When you go out for a day it’s nice to wear good boots, it’ll prevent sore feet ;)

Then I visited Tate Modern. The great thing about London is that all museums are free!

About Tate: I appreciate Modern Art, but sometimes it’s just too absurd or minimalistic in my eyes. I made some photos of the ones I did like.

Welcome to Tate Modern

Salvador Dalí, Metamorphosis of Narcissus

” According to Greek mythology, Narcissus fel in love with his own reflection in a pool. Unable to embrace the watery image, he pined away, and the gods immortalised him as a flower. Dalí shows this metamorphosis by doubling a crouching figure by the lake with a hand clutching an egg, from which the narcissus flower sprouts. When this painting was first exhibited it was accompanied by a long poem by Dalí. Together, the words and image suggest a range of emotions triggered by the theme of metamorphosis, including anxiety, disgust and desire.”

Spanish landscape with mountains, Dora Carrington

” Carrington was fascinated by the Andalusian and made studies for this painting at Yegen, a town with spectecular views of the Sierra Nevada mountain range and across the sea to Africa. She wrote of the works inspired by her visits: ‘They transport me into another world. I cannot express quite what a relief it is.’ Despite being based on direct observation, Carrington made this painting back in Britain and the play with the scale – between the mountain ranges, the four riders and the cacti in the foreground – gives it a dream-like quality.”

Small White Pebble Circles, Richard Long (land art)

”Since 1967 Long has produced sculptures using natural materials which he collects during his long cross country-walks. Sometimes they are assembled in the same rural sites in which he finds the materials, sometimes he brings them inside the gallery spaces. Long has described the subject of his work as ‘a balance between patterns of nature and the formalism of human abstract ideas, like lines and circles. It is where my human characteristics meet the natural forces and patterns of the world.”

Violins Violence Silence, Bruce Nauman

Swinging, Wassily Kandinsky

”The title of swinging conveys the painting’s sense of dynamic movement, suggestive of the rhythms of modernity. One of the pioniers of abstract painting, Kandinsky championed a mystical approach to art. He felt that colour in particular was essential for liberating art from naturalistic appearances.”

The Church of Carrières-Saint-Denis, Georges Braque

”This is one of four paintings that Braque made at Carrières-Saint-Denis outside Paris in October 1909. The town is clearly recognisable, but has been reconstructed through a web of finely drawn lines and an insistent rhythm of linked planes. Braque’s fluidity between these planes (which he described as ‘passage’) helped to emphasize the painted surface. Such landscapes played a crucial role in Braque’s development of cubism from Cézanne’s pictorial language.”

Leaving Tate, passed a very cute pub

I really want to go to London Dungeons sometimes, but I’ll wait until Andrea (my Spanish friend) will arrive in London because I’m too much a pussy to go there all by myself haha.

A very cool hall with all sorts of market shops and cafes. Notice the flags, must be because of the Olympics!

Tower Bridge!!

I certainly do!

Another cool bar/restaurant facing the Thames

:)

Colourful Mexican Foodshop!

View while walking back to Waterloo Station

Really cool street art!

Back at Waterloo Station!

I hope these photos managed to give you an impression of my London day. (This was last Wednesday). Hopefully I’ll be able to put up the Hampton Court post as well tonight, if not….my next post will have to wait a week because tomorrow we’ll be going to Cornwall!

Take care!

xxx R

Editors note: The battery of my camera is completely dead so I won’t be able to put the photos up, ergo not post the Hamton Court post tonight. I’m sorry, you’ll have to wait till next week!

6 comments

  1. Loved this post, have fun in Cornwall! :D

  2. Eveline · · Reply

    Great story, looking forward to lots more! Have fun in Cornwall! Xxx

  3. Tracy · · Reply

    You will LOVE Cornwall – my favourite place! x

  4. Peter M · · Reply

    We all can’t wait….

  5. Tracy · · Reply

    PS If you get a chance, check out the Minnack Theatre (Porthcurno TR19 6JU) – stunning! I have been a regular visitor for the past 30+ years!

  6. najahzahry · · Reply

    I have the exact same Union Jack keychain! My sister got it for me when she went there. :)

Leave a Reply

