Westminster and Big Ben photography by night

Good afternoon,

Last Saturday I had my second photography workshop with my class and teacher, this time at the Southbank facing Westminster, the Big Ben and the London Eye. First of all: it was very crowded!! It was the first Saturday with the Southbank Christmas Market which looked absolutely lovely, but I didn’t have the time to explore the market since I was there to learn about photography. It was a very cold day! It was supposed to rain as well, but fortunately it didn’t. I was lucky enough to use the portable tripod from my teacher (I do not have a tripod myself, but it’s quite an essential object in photography), it’s not as good as a real tripod but at least I got to experiment with some long shutter speed without blurring the whole picture. I have definitely experienced that if I want to carry on in photography, I will really need a real tripod and a 70-300mm lens. Those two are quite essential.

However, I took quite some nice photos from the Big Ben! I even experimented a bit with the traffic on the bridge in the end, they turned out quite arty!

It was quite a gloomy day, so no beautiful lighting I’m afraid.

Merry-go-round, long shutter speed used

Experimented with different white balance, here I used ‘tungsten light’

Those bits in the river were lighted canoes! You can see I used a long shutter speed (bus on the bridge, canoes in the water)

Here you can see I didn’t have a splendid tripod; most of the picture is blurred. However, I still like the composition and how the water looks.

 

Now, the experimental pictures of the traffic and people on the bridge;

 

I have learned a lot that day, my hands were freezing and I cursed myself for not wearing my winter coat, but it was all worth it! Hope you’ve enjoyed my photos!

x R

4 comments

  1. Ooh I love this post Roos! :D

  2. These are really cool! I can’t wait to get to my aupair job in Germany, and I REALLY can’t wait to visit London!

  3. Fantastic photos :)

    1. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

