It’s the most wonderful time of the year

A jolly good evening!

I have read and heard that the first snow has fallen in the Netherlands… nothing serious over here in London though… but that might happen in the following weeks. The temperatures have certainly dropped and it’s just a matter of time before the snow will come and stick to the icy ground. How amazing would a white Christmas be…. I will not be in London for Christmas; I’ll be going back to the Netherlands on the 18th of December, and stay there for Christmas (actually, I’ll be spending Christmas in our French holiday home) and the New Year. That doesn’t mean I am not enjoying all the marvellous christmas decorations and songs over here! Our own Christmas tree will be delivered any time this evening; I will be helping Susanna with decorating so I hope to finish this post before it arrives.

Today I went to Fortnum & Mason, an old-fashioned department store located in central London, Picadilly. What a magical atmosphere! I didn’t go there with the intention of buying anything, since everything is very expensive, but now all the Christmas decorations are up and it was just a great place to have a wander around. Have a look at the photos I took!

 

IMG_5896

 

IMG_5901

 

IMG_5928

 

IMG_5902

IMG_5904

 

IMG_5905

 

IMG_5906

 

IMG_5909

 

IMG_5912

 

IMG_5919

 

IMG_5922

IMG_5930

IMG_5932

IMG_5942

 

IMG_5946

IMG_5951

 

IMG_5962

IMG_5969

IMG_5939

 

IMG_6033

IMG_5937

IMG_5975

IMG_5977

IMG_5979

IMG_5984

IMG_5986

IMG_5991

IMG_5993

IMG_5997

IMG_6007

IMG_6002

IMG_6017

IMG_6013

IMG_6015

IMG_6024

 

Sorry for the enormous amount of photos, I could go on forever…I love detail shots and the flickering christmas lights in the background. After Fortnum & Mason, I just walked around the area a little bit, payed Royal Academy of Arts a visit and went back on the Picadilly line and District line to Wimbledon.

IMG_6035

IMG_6036

IMG_6038

IMG_6041

IMG_6045

 

 

 

I hope I’ve been able to convey the London Christmas atmosphere a little bit to you! Have a lovely week, it’s nearly the weekend!

 

xxx R

ps. Let’s be clear (title-wise): I don’t actually think Winter is the most wonderful time of the year, I prefer Spring and Summer, however Christmas is just a magical time and I like the old christmas song with this title :-).

2 comments

  1. Beautiful shots! Congrats =)

  2. Beautiful Photos :)

Leave a Reply

