Food, fashion and luxury in Harrods

Good evening!

The temperatures are beginning to rise, shops are beginning to display their spring collections and London is still ever so lovely. I have planned the date for my departure back to the Netherlands; from the 7th of April onwards I will not be living in London anymore! Very strange to think about it now, that’s why I’m trying to see as much of London as possible and enjoy my time here the best I can while I’m still here. Yesterday I had a lovely day with Luisa, an au pair I know through Eva. Our plan was to visit Harrods, go to Hamleys (the enormous toy shop in Regent street) and have a wander around Covent Garden. As usual I took so many photos that I decided to split them into two separate posts. This one will be about our Harrods visit and the one about Hamleys and Covent Garden will be on my blog tomorrow.

I had never been to Harrods before, and since everybody is always talking about it I decided I just had to take a look. It’s gigantic, and quite hectic as well, but we saw quite a lot. I expected it to be more specious, rather than all these separate smaller areas, but it was interesting anyway. My personal favourite was the food hall, wow everything looked absolutely delicious.

On the tube to Knightsbridge, and off we got!

On the tube to Knightsbridge, and off we got!

Beautiful ceilings

Beautiful ceilings

Look how incredibly cute these cupcakes for Eastern are!!! I just want to eat them all haha

Look how incredibly cute these cupcakes for Eastern are!!! I just want to eat them all haha

Yum...

Yum…

It's a little obvious that I have a rather sweet tooth isn't it?

It’s a little obvious that I have a rather sweet tooth isn’t it?

IMG_6928

Didn't look too bad either

Didn’t look too bad either

IMG_6932

IMG_6933

CHOCOLATE AAHH

CHOCOLATE AAHH

IMG_6937

Macaroons

Macaroons

We got ourselves some lunch at Harrods: I had a ham-brie panini which tasted fantastic.

One day... one day ;-)

One day… one day ;-)

Beauty department

Beauty department

Impressive chandelier

Impressive chandelier

The Pet department: anyone a nice collar for their pet?

The Pet department: anyone a nice collar for their pet?

And if you really want to treat your dog or cat..

And if you really want to treat your dog or cat..

Believe it or not: there even was a pet salon, to get their fur blow-dried and shampood and who knows what.

Believe it or not: there even was a pet salon, to get their fur blow-dried and shampood and who knows what.

This little one was waiting for its luxurious treatment at the dog spa

This little one was waiting for its luxurious treatment at the dog spa

Disney Princesses

Disney Princesses

Maroccan Tea salon

Maroccan Tea salon

The Silver department: this thing was as big as my hand, look at the price..

The Silver department: this thing was as big as my hand, look at the price..

Glittery statue, there wasn't even a price attached to this .. It sure looks rather, err, interesting?

Glittery statue, there wasn’t even a price attached to this .. It sure looks rather, err, interesting?

Sorry for the blurred photo, but I had to show you this: the 'Egyptian escalators'. In the balconies on the sides there were violinists playing music.

Sorry for the blurred photo, but I had to show you this: the ‘Egyptian escalators’. In the balconies on the sides there were violinists playing music.

Sadly they don't sell/display wedding dresses anymore, so Luisa and I had to do it with the evening gowns. Not bad either! This one is so stunning!!

Sadly they don’t sell/display wedding dresses anymore, so Luisa and I had to do it with the evening gowns. Not bad either! This one is so stunning!!

IMG_6976

IMG_6977

I love that dress on the right!

I love that dress on the right!

So after Harrods we continued our trip, but you will read about that in my next post. I hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

xx R

4 comments

  1. Oh yes I remember visiting Harrods, but I never saw the pet salon! Such a waste, hahahaa ;P

  2. TayabIqbal · · Reply

    Harrods really is fantastic

  3. Hi there! I just stumbled across your blog, fantastic by the way. I’m looking to be an au pair in London next year and can’t find any decent agencies, did you go through one? If so would you recommend it?

    1. Lovely to hear you’re enjoying my blog! I’m afraid I can’t really help you with an agency, I came into contact with my host family through my parents who already knew them. I would definitely recommend gathering your information thoroughly: you do want to end up with a nice family since you’re all alone in a strange city/country! Good luck! xx

Leave a Reply

